Daniele Gatti

Italian orchestra conductor (Milan 1961 - )

Born on the 6th of November 1961 in Milan, the young Daniele Gatti discovered music through his father’s records. He started his musical education at the Milan Conservatoire and studied the piano, the violin and the composition.

Following his graduation, he perfected his training by conducting several minor formations and subsequently got his first important office in 1992 as the director of the National Academy of Saint Cecilia in Rome until 1997. 

Thereafter, Daniele Gatti’s career as an orchestra conductor would be brilliant. He officiated as a guest conductor for the greatest orchestras: the Scala (he is only 27 at the time), in Covent Garden (London) or at the New York Metropolitan Opera. Once his reputation in the lyrical art scene was solid (especially with the Italian operas), he opened his repertoire to symphonic music. Incidentally critics acclaimed his interpretation on the record Symphonies 4, 5 and 6 of Tchaikovsky. 

In 2008, Daniele Gatti made his debut at Bayreuth with of production of Persifal that would stay scheduled on the festival’s program four summers in a row. The same year, he replaced Kurt Mazur and became the director of the Orchestre National de France in Paris. The Milanese conductor launched a cycle of Mahler’s symphonies and celebrated the centenary of Stravinsky’s Rite of Spring with a record in 2013.

Guest conductor on a regular basis at the Concertgebouw of Amsterdam, he became its musical director in 2016.

Six landmark dates in the life of Daniele Gatti

1992-1997: musical director for the National Academy of Saint Cecilia
1996-2009: musical director for the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra
1994-1997: main guest conductor of the Royal Opera House in London
2008-2016: musical director for the Orchestre National de France
2009: main conductor for the orchestra of the Zürich Opera House
2016: musical director for the Concertgebouw of Amsterdam

Three key recordings by Daniele Gatti

Gustav Mahler: Symphonie n°5
Royal Philharmonic Orchestra / Daniele Gatti, direction
Conifer Classics 75605 51318 2

Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky: Symphonies 4,5 et 6
Royal Philharmonic Orchestra / Daniele Gatti, direction
Harmonia Mundi HMX 2907561.63

Igor Stravinsky: Petrouchka, Le sacre du Printemps
Orchestre national de France / Daniele Gatti, direction
Sony Classical 8872544255