Georges Aperghis

French composer of Greek origin (Athens, 1945 - )

George Aperghis' name in twentieth-century musical creation is forever associated to musical theatre.

Musician essentially self-taught, George Aperghis left Greece for Paris in 1963, where he was introduced to serialism and concrete music through the works of Pierre Schaeffer and Pierre Henry and was interested in Iannis Xenakis’s research. He developed a more personal style, in which his interest for musical theatre led him to question the relationship between music and text. Since his first play, La Tragique Histoire du necromancien Hiéronimo et de son miroir in 1971, Aperghis has developed an original musical dramaturgy that combines vocal, instrumental, gestural, narrative and scenic elements. He is also interested in opera, which allows a synthesis of his research: the voice being the ideal vector of expression.

In 1976, he founded the Atelier Théâtre et Musique (ATEM) which brought together musicians, singers, actors and visual artists. He composed and created several works there.

His catalogue, which includes more than a hundred pieces, also includes solo, orchestral, vocal and chamber music works, always inspired by the text and its dramaturgy.

Six landmark dates in the life of Georges Aperghis:

1971: Composed La Tragique histoire du necromancien Hiéronimo et de son miroir, his first musical theatre play.
1973: Composed Pandemonium, his first opera.
1976: Founded the Atelier Théâtre et Musique (Atem)
2000: Winner of the SACEM Award (Best Creation of the Year) for Machinations 2004: Composed Dark Side for the Ensemble Intercontemporain and Marianne Pousseur.
2011: Received the Mauricio Kagel Award

Six key works by Georges Aperghis:

1976: Histoire de loups, opera
1978: Le Corps à Corps, for percussion and Zarb
1992: Sextuor: L'Origine des espèces
1997: Volte-face
2005: Avis de tempête
2009: Happiness daily

Official site

Biography from Radio France’s Musical Documentation