Nicholas Angelich

American pianist (born in 1970 in Cincinnati)

Nicholas Angelich is one of the most talented contemporary pianists of his generation. Fascinated by the music of Mozart and Beethoven, Angelich also covers a Romantic and contemporary repertoire.

Nicholas Angelich began to study the piano at the age of five. He was a young prodigy, and gave his first concert at the age of seven. As a teenager, he left the United States and moved to France to study at the Paris Conservatory. His teachers included Aldo Ciccolini, Yvonne Loriod and Michel Beroff. Angelich covered a vast repertoire: classical, romantic but also contemporary. He played works by Messiaen, Stockhausen, Boulez, Eric Tanguy and Pierre Henry who dedicated the Concerto for piano without orchestra to him. Always enthusiastic about chamber music, his perfect contemporary partners are Gautier and Renaud Capuçon.

Angelich received many prizes and awards. He was the recipient of the First Prize at the Gina Bachauer International Piano Competition in 1994, then of the Young Talent Award at the International Klavierfestival Ruhr in 2002. In 2013, he was elected “Instrumental Soloist of the Year” at the Victoires de la musique classique.

Angelich has performed with the most prestigious personalities throughout his career: Myung-Whun Chung, Marc Minkowski or even Sir Colin Davis.

5 key dates in the life of Angelich:

• 1977: Gave his first concert

1983: Entered the Paris conservatory

• 2004: Toured in Japan with Kurt Masur and the National Orchestra of France, playing Brahms’ Piano Concerto No 2.

• 2006: Gave a concert performing all the Years of Pilgrimage by Liszt

• 2013: Was appointed “Instrumental Soloist of the Year” 

5 key works by Angelich:

• 1995: Sergei Rachmaninoff, recital

2004: Johannes Brahms: Trios for Piano, Violin and Cello. With Renaud Capuçon, Gautier Capuçon.

• 2006: Johannes Brahms: Klavierstücke Op.116-119

• 2008: Johannes Brahms: Piano Concerto No. 1, Hungarian Dances. With the Symphony Orchestra of Frankfurt radio, Paavo Järvi, Frank Braley.

• 2011: Gabriel Fauré: Complete Chamber Music for Strings & Piano. With Renaud Capuçon, Gautier Capuçon, Gérard Caussé, Quatuor Ébène, Michel Dalberto.