Philippe Manoury

Compositeur (Tulle, 1952)

A composer at the cutting edge of electroacoustic, Philippe Manoury splits his career between France andthe United States. He mainly works using the interaction between the instrument and electronics and is a loyal collaborator to Ircam.

Philippe Manoury studied composition with Gérard Condé and Marx Deutsch, and subsequently with Ivo Malec, Pierre Barbaud and Michel Philippot at the Conservatoire de Paris. After being awarded the Premier Prix for both musical analysis and composition Manoury took up residence in Brazil in 1978 where he taught a series of classes and lectures at the universities of Sao Paulo, Rio and Brasilia. 

Upon his return to France he worked at Ircam on a research project on inharmonic sounds. This research resulted in the creation of Zeitlauf, which was the first of a series of works employing computer composition programmes as well as interaction between electronic and traditional instruments. Manoury's compositions also include works for larger forces and for the stage, such as his opera La Nuit de Gutenberg as well as chamber music, such as his string quartets Stringendo and Tensio. His work have been performed by many esteemed artists including Michel Portal, Claude Helffer and Christophe Desjardins, by the Arditti Quartet and also by such prestigious ensembles such as the Radio France Philharmonic Orchestra, the Ensemble Intercontemporain and 2e2m, under the direction of celebrated conductors like Pierre Boulez and Peter Eötvös.

In tandem with his work as a composer from 1983 to 1987 Manoury was in charge of the education programme at the heart of the Ensemble Intercontemporain. From 1987 to 1997 he was Professor of Composition and Electronic Music at the CNSM in Lyon. Following an eight-year tenure as emeritus professor at the University of California, San Diego, Philippe Manoury relocated to Strasbourg in 2013 where he teaches composition at the Conservatoire and also lectures at the university. 

Six Landmark Dates in the Life of Philippe Manoury :

  • 1981 : First collaborations with IRCAM  
  • 1995 : Composer in Residence with the Orchestre de Paris until 2001
  • 2001 : Composer in Residence at the National theatre of Orléans until 2003
  • 2004 : Professor at the University of California, San Diego until 2012  
  • 2012 : His work La nuit de Gutenberg earned him "Composer of the Year" at the Victoires de la Musique 
  • 2013 : Became Professor of Composition at the Strasbourg Conservatoire 

Six Key Works by Philippe Manoury 

  • 1987 : Jupiter for Flute and Live electronics
  • 1994 : Chronophonies I et II, for mezzo soprano, bass baritone and orchestra, Commissioned by Radio France  
  • 2007 : Terra Ignota, In memoriam Karlheinz Stockhausen for piano and ensemble  
  • 2001 : K…, opéra  
  • 2009 : Synapse, concerto for violin and orchestra 
  • 2011 : La nuit de Gutenberg, opera

Official Website: Philippe Manoury